A tale of two farmers (preacher humor)

Two farmers, across the road from each other, seem to have completely different fates. The farmer on the east side of the road has plenty of rain, lush, green crops, and bountiful harvests every year. The farmer on the west side of the road seems to go from drought to famine, year after year.

One day, the poor, drought-stricken farmer is working hard out in the field and looks across the road at the farmer to the east. Why does he get rain, great harvests, and have such a beautiful, green tractor while I fight the dust with this old mule? He decides to ask the other farmer.

“Sir, I’ve been working the land across the road all my life, and I’ve never done as well as you have. What’s your secret?” he asked.

“Well, sir, every morning before I get up, I pray that God will bless me,” he answered.

“So do I, but I’m not feeling too blessed. What else do you do?”

“Well, I also read my Bible. Every morning I flip it open to a page, point to the verse, and do what it says.”

So the poor farmer returned to his side of the road, shaking his head. One day, the poor farmer had disappeared from his fields. The rich farmer didn’t know what had become of him.

Then about five years later, the rich farmer is out plowing his fields and he sees a huge dust cloud forming on that old dirt road. As it gets closer, he sees it’s a long, white, Cadillac convertible with big horns on the hood. The car slows down, and comes up his drive. It’s the old dirt farmer from across the road.

“Hey, what happened to you? You’re luck has sure changed!” he said as he ran to greet his old neighbor.

“It wasn’t luck at all! It was the secret you told me. I flipped my Bible open one morning, and the answer I’d needed all along was right there. My life completely changed! I left the farm, am makin’ a great livin’, and am filthy rich!”

“Really? Tell me, sir, what did that verse say?!”

“It said, ‘Chapter 12.’

This entry was posted in Humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts.

