Oops.

ne_colorado_supercell

Well, my first three posts in my latest series have gone *poof!*. I don’t have backups, and that’s OK. In a way, I wasn’t entirely pleased with them. Not the points made, but just that I couldn’t quite get out what I wanted to the way it was in my head and heart. Sometimes it’s like trying to squeeze a herd of cattle through a narrow chute…know what I mean?

Anywho, here is the gist of what I wanted to say stripped down as much as I can. I think we need to stop arguing about which is better, modernism or postmodernism. Neither is right, both are flawed. We need to stop fearing that the rise in secularism is going to lead to a post-Christian America. Why? It already has. Done deal. We don’t need to fear that the current moral decay might lead to crumbling of the American family. It already has, so we’re not dealing with an unknown, and knowing where we need to minister is a blessing. We don’t need to fear that we might be marginalized. We already are. Sound gloomy? Not to me. The hungriest place with the most open hearts to Jesus I have yet served was post-collapse Russia. They had no pretensions of being a “Christian nation” and no pride in the idea they already knew what they needed to about Jesus. Maybe we’ll start seeing the same hunger develop here, now that more people are being honest about their lack of faith (you see, I think all the latest data isn’t showing a decline in faith, but an increase in honesty about the lack of it–fewer people checking “Christian” on surveys to make momma happy). I don’t see what’s happening as a coming storm, but one that passing over now, and one whose damage we can already assess and address through Christ-like service and ministry. It’s not time to batten down the hatches, it’s time to get out and about the business of “disaster relief.” We’ve seen over the past decades a spiritual Katrina in our homes, neighborhoods, and churches, and we need to be praying and working that the victims of this storm get a faster response. They won’t if we’re still standing around looking at the sky arguing with each other about the color of the umbrella.

So, what I was working toward in that series is simply this:

1. Open our eyes to the world and be honest about what we see.

2. Open our hearts to the real faces and real pains of those hurt in this tumultuous time.

3. Open our hands to serve and love them in the way of Jesus.

4. Repeat until the Lord comes.

These are not revolutionary points, but they do lead to a revolutionary life.

This entry was posted in Church of Christ and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oops.

  1. Bill Moore says:

    This is the best commentary on modernism & post-modernism I have seen. I especially like the pithiness & veracity of your 4 points. 🙂

  2. James says:

    Thanks, Bill.

  3. Nessa says:

    This is a fantastic post! I completely agree with everything you said.

    Your four points are spot on. I am actively working on applying these points to my life.

    BTW, we’ve never met, but my mother is married to your father. I’ve been reading you for some time and really enjoy your blog.

  4. James says:

    Thanks, Vanessa. Glad you’re enjoying the blog. My dad’s always spoken highly of you.

Share your thoughts.

