“Sweet potato pie and shut my mouth”

Inspired by this Alabama song, I decided I needed to try my hand at baking a sweet potato pie. You see, contrary to popular belief, I’m not from the South. I’m from the Southwest (some day I gotta blog that whole cultural soapbox, but to put it quickly, I grew up in Bonanza territory, not Gone with the Wind territory). I never had a sweet potato pie growing up in West Texas where pecan pie is king. In fact, the first time I ever had a piece (and the last until I cooked this one) was in upstate New York at a friend’s home.

I looked around and decided to experiment with an amalgamation of recipes I thought sounded good. It worked. Boy, did it work. It plum-knocked-pumpkin-pie-from-the-Christmas-menu worked. Here is what I ended up with.

  • 1 large sweet potato (I peeled, cubed and steamed it)
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1/2 stick melted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (used some good real Mexican vanilla from our last TX trip)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (used Kosher)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 cup milk
  • unbaked pie crust (cheated, bought frozen)
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans (thanks, Emmett)
  • 1 tablespoon of maple syrup (used Vermont Grade A Medium Amber)

Just throw everything from the potato to the ginger into the bowl and mix thoroughly. Then add the milk and mix.

Pour into the pie pan and smooth out the top. Sprinkle the pecans on top and then drizzle with the maple syrup. Bake at 350 for 35-45 minutes. Let cool for at least 30 minutes (“they” say an hour, but I liked it still good and warm).

It’s worth it for the smell in the house. It’ll make your brain happy.

Here’s how mine looked.

100_2171

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts.

