Quote of the Day

Prayer is not the last straw; it is the straw that broke the camel’s back.

~Randy Moody, Living in the Real Church

This entry was posted in Christianity, Prayer, Quotes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quote of the Day

  1. Bill says:

    Do I have to read the book to understand the reference? I always thought “the straw that broke the camel’s back” referred to a final burden…….

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Last_straw

  2. James says:

    I guess the larger quote would bring it into a better perspective. Although if you’d like to borrow the book, just let me know, Bill, it’s a good one.

    “The Ephesians were encouraged to pray all the time in a variety of prayers. The Thessalonians heard it this way, “Pray continually!” Prayer is not the last straw; it is the straw that breaks the camel’s back. The opening illustrations view prayer as the last straw, grasping for something when all other options are depleted. Paul illustrates prayer as the straw that breaks the devil’s back. Once armed to the teeth with full battle gear, then it is time to engage in the real business of Christian warfare — prayer. The battle gear alone will not suffice. Yes, it is weighty and formidable. Yes, the armor will slow the rulers and authorities down. But the one thing that powers Christians triumphantly over these forces is prayer. Without prayer the devil will never be broken.”

  3. Bill says:

    I think I’ll take you up on borrowing the book. I will endeavor to get past the historical usage of the idiom. I have trouble relating “straw” to “prayer” as used in the historical idiom.
    I prefer to think of prayer as that which can either remove the burden (straw), or strengthen us to bear our burden (straw).

    I think a more appropriate phrase would have been “grasp at straws” with prayer then being the “straw” that saves…….

    grasp/clutching at straws – http://www.phrases.org.uk/bulletin_board/27/messages/391.html

  4. James says:

    OK, I’ll make a note to get it to you when I see you at the Pig Pit. I won’t be at the radio station until either the 30th or 31st (I’m two programs ahead at this point because of the holidays). We’ll have to think BBQ around that time.

    I think you’ll like the book. It’s a study of some of the “one another” passages.

Share your thoughts.

