Who knew?

I was aware of the family tragedy that was the inspiration of Horatio Spafford’s “It Is Well With My Soul”, but there was something revealed in Al Maxey’s recent article I didn’t know.  He was born in Lansingburg/Troy.  This has always been one of my absolute favorite hymns, especially the verse in bold below.  It’s written in the margin next to Colossians chapter two in my Bible.

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Refrain

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

Refrain

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

Refrain

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

Refrain

But, Lord, ‘tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait,
The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
Oh trump of the angel! Oh voice of the Lord!
Blessed hope, blessed rest of my soul!

Refrain

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

Refrain

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who knew?

  1. RaDonna says:

    A couple of things:

    CONGRATS!! She is beautiful and I can imagine how proud you are!! Happy the scare turned out okay. Just not worth taking a chance!!!

    This is my FAVORITE song. (I always tell mom and James I want this song sung at my funeral…although they don’t like me to say it, I figure there is one part of that day they don’t have to figure out or wonder about! ha) Back to the song: there is just something about it. Something about the peace it offers/reminds us of in good and bad times. It touches me every time I sing it/hear it. What amazing thoughts.

    Hope you guys are doing well. Things here are good. West Texas wind is blowing 60 miles an hour so the skies are a nice shade of……………..dirt.

    Give the family our love…

    RaDonna

  2. James says:

    Thanks, RaDonna. I’m just glad the girls got Tanya’s nose instead of mine…ha!

    Now there’s something we don’t get around here. I’ve haven’t seen a good West Texas sand storm in quite a while. When we’d get one in San Angelo we’d joke that my grandparents (from Ackerly, TX) must be blowing by. I remember one of the men at the church in Canadian talking about having to eat supper under a sheet when he was a kid to keep the sand out of his food. Ah, good times, good times.

Share your thoughts.

