So just who’s responsible?

Ok, so I’m running errands this afternoon and found myself at a place of commerce overhearing a rant I’d rather not have heard. I guess the employees didn’t see me come in. They were going off on “young people today” as ol’ fogies are wont to do (they weren”t really old ol’ fogies, but I’m pretty sure once the ranting begins, age is irrelevant and your fogieness is certified Grade A on the spot–I’m not saying all people older than me are ol’ fogies). Here’s what I heard:

#1: So just how do they think they’re gonna freakin’ get through the rest of their life?!

#2: They don’t use their heads, and you know what else? There’s a whole generation of ’em out there!

#1: Sheesh!

I used to be a youth minister (I miss that), and would hear this discussion from time to time. I usually asked this question, which I wish I’d thought at the moment to ask the employees this afternoon: “Who raised them?” You see, I think it’s wimpy, irresponsible and a major trip down deNile to talk about “those young people today” as though someone else raised them. It’s amazing that people will gripe and gripe and gripe about the self-centeredness of “young people” without ever looking at the example they are following–the parents that made them the center of the world.

Now don’t get me wrong. I’m not a “blame the parents for every woe in your life” person. In a way, that’s exactly what I think breeds the problem of the complainers at the business this afternoon. They were children of “blame the parents” 60’s and 70’s, and now that they are the parents, they’re blaming the children. Think about this for a second. Everything wrong is either my parents fault for not buying me that purple balloon a the circus when I was three, or my children’s fault for being so self-centered as to ask me for a balloon every time we’re at the stinkin’ circus! It’s anyone’s fault but mine.

So, the next time you hear this rant, or are tempted to go off on “young people” ask yourself, or those around you…who raised them? Then take responsibility for what you’ve done instead blaming everyone else.

And that’s my rant for today. 🙂

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So just who’s responsible?

  1. Bill says:

    Okay, so a global ‘we’ raised this generation and the global ‘we’ have complaints. (I seem to remember similar rants from my father regarding my generation.) The question really shouldn’t be, Who is to blame? The question as I see it is, What tools should we be using to ‘modify’ perceived incorrect thoughts and actions of young people?

    I like the suggestion that I heard in a sermon that it is important to build a relationship witht he young people we wish to impact. I also like the instruction from 2 Timothy 3:16-17 All scripture is inspired by God and profitable fro teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteous; so that the man of God may be adequete, equiped for every good work.

    Also, I have a son that is part of that ‘young people today” group. He is another reason for continued prayers, for I believe that only through Gon and in God will he be what I wish for him. Don’t get me wrong, I am very proud of my son. He is becoming a fine christian man and continues to grow in Christ. I also believe that their are many more like him ‘out there.’

    Finally, to conclude, I know you know all these things already. I know that you were just ranting.

  2. James says:

    No, not a global “we”, that’s the point. People take the global approach to avoid personal responsibility. It’s not guarantee that good parents will have children that grow up to be model citizens of any kingdom, earthly or heavenly. But it is a guarantee that whatever your children turn out to be, you had a part in it–that’s not a fact that can be shuffled off on “oh, those young people today” as though the parent saying it had not influence whatsoever.

  3. billy mcguiggan says:

    James,
    just wanted to say, i enjoy your blogs.
    billy

Share your thoughts.

