It’s Not About You (1.0): Learning From Galileo

There was a time, not as long ago as we like to think, when man believed that the earth was at the very center of the universe. The natural fruit (or perhaps root?) of this idea known as geocentrism was that man was then at the center of the universe. In walks Galileo with his discovery that the earth was indeed not the center of all that orbits and shines in the universe, contributing to a major shift in human history and understanding. But not all that should have changed did, or has yet.

Mankind still wrestles with egocentrism–the idea that he/she is the center of all things and the only VIP in the room. This is evident in the way we make our choices, as though we are the only people they affect, in the way we walk through the mall as though the people we rudely run over aren’t even there, when corporate bigwigs throw hedonistic parties while their employees pensions are drained to non-existence, or deciding to leave your grocery basket up against the neighboring car because you can’t be expected to walk the two spaces over to put it up, or in divorce proceedings where people declare that they have “grown apart” (in truth, there is no such thing…most more likely “digressed apart”). You see it in the man too “busy” to help, and too proud to be helped. Whether the fruit is big or small, it is always rotten.

In steps Jesus. If ever anyone could rightly walk around as though he were the universe’s great epicenter, it would be the Son of God. Yet he did not. Whether he was being stopped by parents asking for the healing of their children or answering questions at Jacob’s well, he was always keenly aware that other people were present–and that they mattered. Even as his earthly life ebbed away and the pain washed over him, his mind was on the forgiveness of those who crucified him. I could never be so bold as to proclaim I know what Jesus would do in every situation, but I’m sure if he’d been at the PriceChopper this evening, he’d have put his cart away rather than let it hit the Honda in the next spot. In Jesus’ world, others matter. It is not all about you, nor me.

Imagine for a second, if you will, how different life would be if egocentrism went the way of geocentrism. What would it take? Where would you start? What would you change?

One more question…what are you waiting for?

Stay tuned for Part 2 of It’s Not About You: 12 Steps For Recovering Egocentrics

This entry was posted in Christianity, Church of Christ, Jesus, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Not About You (1.0): Learning From Galileo

  1. Angie says:

    Was this post about me? I’m just sure you’re talking about me. Do you need a picture of me to post? Just e-mail me…

    OK… weak attempt to play up my egocentricity! 🙂

    JAMES! Hello, my friend! Hugs to you and Tanya! I haven’t seen you guys in ages… I’m so glad to know you’re blogging. It has been a wonderful way for me to re-connect with people since I’m living in Mississippi these days! Looooong story!

    Seriously, I dig your blog. I see you have Preacher Mike on your blog roll. He seems to be a common denominator among many blogs I frequent, and he’s a daily read for me. I just visited Abilene recently and was really encouraged by that entire experience.

    Before this “all about me” comment gets any longer… I just want to say that I truly appreciate your heart for God. It’s obvious from your words that His presence in you just overflows.

    Come on over & visit my blog sometime. You’re always welcome there. I’m gonna add you to my list of blog connections, if you don’t mind.

    Lovingly,
    Angie Burns

  2. James says:

    Hey Angie, it has been a long time. We’ve been wondering how you were doing, where you were. We’re not the best at keeping track, but blogs, email and websites sure do make it easier.

    I pray all is well with you, I know that you’re a blessing wherever God puts you.

    Oh, and by the way, every now and then I still get “The Mystery” stuck in my head for a week.

    God bless,
    James

  3. mommyham says:

    James,

    The same topic our sponsoring elder + his wife talked about with my husband and I last night as we discussed th fate of “young marrieds” in our church.

    We have strong Christians from 90+ down to the middle aged crowd, a handful in the 30-somethings, and then a surge of strength when we get to the college group. This lack of spiritual strength in our young parents is visibly b/c of egocentrism, and it’s breaking our hearts to see. After all, not only are they on the line, but their kids too.

    We’re praying that this phenomenon can be addressed and nipped in the bud.

  4. Pingback: Part 2: It’s Not About You: 12 Steps of Faith for the Recovering Egocentric « The Time Has Come

  5. Pingback: Church of christ Blog Digest - It's Not About You (1.0): Learning From Galileo

  6. Pingback: Its not about you Blog Digest - It's Not About You (1.0): Learning From Galileo

Share your thoughts.

