Huh? You’re gonna do WHAT with my car?

What a day. Between trips to the hospital I had to deal with the hail damage to our van. Oh boy. The insurance has counted it a "total loss" and are going to pay it off, but the finance company is wanting to issue the title as a "salvage title" (meaning it's junked and can't be driven). The problem, or course, is that we're in no position to be buying another car (before all this we were getting excited about being just several months from our last payment), and we are two thousand miles from home. Oh yeah, and the "salvage title" is a crock. So the roof looks like a golf ball, that doesn't mean the car is unsafe, undrivable, or dangerous–just ugly. I can deal with payed off and ugly. I can't deal with surrendering my keys. So, I spent the afternoon on the phone (hate phones) talking with the outsourced call center folks (no kidding) who didn't know what in tarnation a "salvage title" or "hail" or "retention" meant (not kidding there, either–they were friendly, though). This means I get to spend the morning tomorrow calling the Texas DOT (my car was bought in TX) and the NY DMV trying to figure out what the insurance company and banks should know and do, but don't. I'm hoping the research I did today is true–that most states have a "hail damaged" title, and that whichever state has titling jurisdiction will let us do it that way. Oh the joy. Days like this I miss Russia and my $20/month public transportation pass.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Huh? You’re gonna do WHAT with my car?

  1. billmoore says:

    Ah, the joys of government bureaucracy! ;-0

    ….. so glad I don’t have to deal with it, nor can I understand those that are a willing part of it all. 🙂

    Good luck, have patience, and know that my prayers are with you!!!

  2. Michele says:

    With all you have to deal with, this is just more stress! May God give you strength…and a new car! 🙂

Share your thoughts.

