Back from Texas

Whew. Yesterday was a LOOOONG day. We got up before 4:00 a.m. to get to the airport and begin our three-plane trip back to Troy. All went well (except for a delay when the third jet’s heater system tried to catch fire).

Our trip was to San Angelo, Tx so I could speak at the Missions Sunday at the Southgate church. It was so good to see so many people. I grew up at Southgate, and I’m always honored to get to go back and speak. It’s humbling…preaching to a room full of your former Sunday School teachers. I owe that congregation big time.

We had a longer trip than originally intended. At the last minute we changed our plans to go a week early so we could see my sister, who was to be in Texas visiting her daughter. My sister, Amanda, is in the Army in Germany (done time in Baghdad) and we haven’t seen her and her daughter in SIX years. We were so excited…but. But the Army cancelled her trip at the last minute (my mother waited for her at the airport for two days in Dallas) and we didn’t get to see her. To say we were all very disappointed is an extreme understatement.

We did, though, because of that change get to visit both sides of the family and that was a blessing, as usual.

I’ll try to get some pictures up before too long. I’ve got several things to blog about if I find the time. I just wanted to blog a quick note to let everyone know why I’d dropped off the blog scene. I don’t like posting that I’m going out of town, and I’m always a little on the paranoid side about coming back to an empty house, if you know what I mean.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts.

