I don’t know about tomorrow.

Tomorrow, should the Lord bless us with a morrow, is going to be hectic! I’ve been working on setting up my office (why, oh why, do we humans always start big projects right before we have to clean up for company?). I’ve got several boxes to go to storage and I’ve got a couple of friends coming to help (remember the episode of Seinfeld about helping his friend move…good one) and then take them out for Chinese at the Plum Blossom (“Chinese Restaurant” is another good episode). Then my in-laws are coming to town and will be here a couple of weeks. I remember saying once that they were coming, and would be in town for a couple of weeks and getting responses of “Ugh, I can’t imagine that.” However, I’ve been blessed to have married not only an amazing woman, but I married into a great family to boot (

Tonight at our Bible study we sang. One of the songs was an oldy, “I Know Who Holds My Hand”. I pictured in my mind the last time I remember singing it. It was a singing night at church and an older gentelman who’d just lost his wife requested it. He couldn’t sing, but he found great comfort in his church family who was more than willing to sing it for him.

“I Know Who Holds My Hand” by Ira Stanphill

I don’t know about tomorrow,
I just live from day to day.
I don’t borrow from it’s sunshine,
For it’s skies may turn to gray.
I don’t worry o’er the future,
For I know what Jesus said,
And today I’ll walk beside Him,
For He knows what is ahead.

Refrain
Many things about tomorrow,
I don’t seem to understand;
But I know Who holds tomorrow,
And I know Who holds my hand.

Ev’ry step is getting brighter,
As the golden stairs I climb;
Ev’ry burden’s getting lighter;
Ev’ry cloud is silver lined.
There the sun is always shining,
There no tear will dim the eyes,
At the ending of the rainbow,
Where the mountains touch the sky.

I don’t know about tomorrow,
It may bring me poverty;
But the One Who feeds the sparrow,
Is the One Who stands by me.
And the path that be my portion,
May be through the flame or flood,
But His presence goes before me,
And I’m covered with His blood.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.