April Showers

When you grow up where I did, rain is an answer to prayer, a blessing from God Himself. I remember times it was so dry our cattle made Calista Flockhart look portly. I can recall impassioned prayers at church by farmers and ranchers whose very livelihoods were dependent on rain coming…soon. I remember news stories about desperate attempts to “seed the clouds.”

I bring this up because I’m up early this morning, and just checked the weather forecast. (I went to bed early so I wouldn’t be so tired today, only to be awakened by a nasty earache.) Of the next TEN days only TWO will not be rainy.

I’ve already heard the complaints on the news. Why do they do that? Rain is not negative! It’s a blessing! Where would you be without? Dead. What would you eat? Nothing, you’d be dead. Why complain, then? Because that’s what Americans do. Too hot, too cold, too dry, too wet. Ugh. I look forward to watching the rain fall as the blessing from heaven it is. And any newscast that paints it negatively or “nattering nabob of negativity” (heh, I always wanted to use that phrase) that complains in my presence will find deaf ears (hey, it already hurts, it doesn’t need a bunch of whinin’ about the weather :).

Enjoy the rain. Enjoy the bounty that follows. Praise God from whom all blessings flow…even the ones that cancel your picnic.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April Showers

Share your thoughts.

