All That’s Shallow and Useless in One 30-Minute Program

I’m sitting in the living room of our apartment, trying to quickly get caught up with some correspondence on my laptop. Tanya is feeding Emma, who is so close to sleep you’d think she could eat and snore simultaneously. Tanya was watching Family Feud when she started feeding Emma. Then the ‘devil’ program came on. Now, if you are one of those people who actually thinks magazines like People and US are literature, go to another blog, you won’t understand, you’re already too far gone. Really…go…shoo now.

The ‘devil’ program is known to most people as The Insider. Now you might think I’m being a little too harsh. That’s OK, you were fairly warned. Why are you still reading this, anyway? I’ve seen this show, accidentally when the remote was out of my grip, a couple of times. It seems to me that it represents everything shallow and useless in our society in just thirty minutes. It is nothing but gossip and rumor about people who make their livings luring us into materialism, greed, lust and superficiality. For example, according to their preview spots, the extent of their coverage of the tsunami victims would be a story about a supermodel…because hey, in their world, she’s the only significant victim.

They go on and on about how wonderful all the gossip is, and hope you will want to join in the shallow wasteland of Hollywood vicariously…pathetic. If you’re a fan of the show, I’m sorry. I’m not sorry for offending you, I’m truly sorrow you are in the state you are in.

There you go…an unvarnished, no-holds barred look at what I think about daytime TV when I’m low on coffee and the sinus headache medicine hasn’t yet kicked in. I’ll still feel this way later, but I’ll talk about it with a softer edge. Maybe, maybe not.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts.

