When the Night is Falling

Over the past few years, I don’t think any other song has moved me as much as this one, with the possible exceptions of “Arise, My Love” and “Your Grace Still Amazes Me”. I love the simplicity of heart these words speak, and who can help but find great joy in the idea of the Heavenly Father saying “How I love you, child I love you”? Simply beautiful.

When the night is falling,
And the day is done,
I can hear You calling, “Come.”
I will come while You sing over me.

When the night surrounds me,
All my dreams undone,
I can hear You calling, “Come.”
I will come while You sing over me.
When the night would hide my way,
I will listen until I hear You say…

How I love you, child, I love you.
How I love you, child, I love you.
How I love you.
How I love you, child, I love you.
How I love you, child, I love you.
How I love you.

When this life is over,
And the race is run,
I will hear You calling, “Come.”
I will come while You sing over me,

How I love you, child, I love you.
How I love you, child, I love you.
How I love you.
How I love you, child, I love you.
How I love you, child, I love you.
How I love you.
–Dennis Jernigan

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When the Night is Falling

  1. adams obiero says:

    I mean this song just ministered to me when I heard it.
    God Bless you Dennis

  2. Nancy Burall says:

    I, too have loved this song. I call it, ‘Jesus’ Lullaby”.
    Thank you for sharing and reminding me.
    In His peace.

  3. Jo Bostelaar says:

    One of my very favorite songs. Just the thought of Jesus singing over me as I come to Him brings tears to my eyes.

Share your thoughts.

