Favorite Holiday

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. I think it’s because the marketing gurus totally ignore it. I like that it is a holiday with family with a focus on lifting praise to God together.

In our kitchen is a table that belonged to my grandparents. Throughout my childhood it was in their kitchen. It was usually the kiddie table. Now the chairs are in need of new uhpholstery and the legs are a little wobbly. There are so many good memories at that table. I enjoyed the best food there…ham, turkey, cornbread dressing, giblet gravy, pound cake, peach cobbler, corn, green beans, salad….all in one meal! But in truth, it was the people around the table that made the meal.

Thank you, Lord, for all those times with family, thank you for next Thursday, when we will gather around another table and celebrate yet again.

For all that you’ve done, I will thank you
For all that you’re going to do
For all that you’ve promised,
And all that you are
Is all that has carried me through
JESUS I thank you

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Favorite Holiday

  1. Mary says:

    I like Thanksgiving too, partly because my birthday falls during Thansgiving week, and mostly because it reminds me to count my many blessings, instead of focusing on my perceived hardships. I have come to dread Christmastime because it seems to bring more stress than joy. I am not a religious person, but my relatives all are, and still, conflict reigns at this time of year! Why?

  2. Mary says:

    One more thing…I just read your profile, and my favorite movie is “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles”! I thought that was interesting. “What About Bob?” is on my list too. My first blog entry was about the Bible, although not because it’s my favorite book. You probably won’t like what I wrote about it, but I honestly feel that way, and that doesn’t make me a “bad person” does it?

Share your thoughts.

