Pray, Vote, Pray Some More

I can’t believe I haven’t blogged in two weeks! I guess I’ve been too busy yakkin’ in other areas of my life, and ran out of words for the blog (they say us men only have 5,000 words a day and I didn’t want to run out).

I’m not going to say whom I’m voting for, but I’ll tell you who and why if you ask. They say you shouldn’t talk politics or religion. Whoever “they” are “they” are wrong. Without discussion and dialog, you get nowhere in either arena. Instead, the rule ought to be (at least in “James’ World”) you shouldn’t talk politics or religion unless you can be nice about it.

I’ve had a lot of interesting conversations (imagine that, will you?) with folks about both lately, and wanted to blog today about the upcoming (finally!) election. There have been conversations about whether not a Christian can be a liberal or conservative, whether or not Christians should even vote, whether or not you can legislate morality and on and on. I want to address a couple of those.

1. Should Christians vote? Though you wouldn’t know it by today’s rhetoric, many Christians have held the view that you shouldn’t. Even David Lipscomb at one point believed Christians should abstain from voting. From my point of view, for what little that’s worth, we should. We live in a rare time and place when the government of our nation has actually asked for our opinion, and says they will act on it. That’s not the way most people look at it, but that’s the truth. Voting is an expression of opinion, and our country has asked for ours. Granted, they haven’t asked ONLY for ours, but they’ve asked, nonetheless. Why, with that opportunity, would you remain silent? A vote is your chance to share your opinion on the direction of our nation. From those of you I’ve talked with, I know you have an opinion…share it November 2nd, making the most of the opportunity.

2. Can a Christian be a Democrat? Republican? Nope. Ooooo, I just heard growls from both sides of the aisle. Good. Our citizenship is in a greater Kingdom. I’m not a Republican or a Democrat. I’m a Christian. I don’t believe you could, in good conscience find a party that truly represents your values. I know I haven’t found one. Nor am I looking for one.

3. Remember there’s a vote more important than your own. We may not understand the providence of God, or why He allows certain leaders to rise and fall, but we need to trust and acknowledge it is He who is truly in control. If you wake up on November 3rd and find your candidate lost, you’d better get on your knees and pray. If he won, do the same. Either of these guys is going to need wisdom they do not currently possess.

4. See #3 and remember this, too. Gossip and slander are still gossip and slander, and therefore still sin, even in the realm of political conversation. If you can’t show respect, it would be better for you to avoid such conversations. I bring this up, because too many of my brothers in Christ are engaged in these sins in the name of an election, forgetting they should be praying in the name of Christ instead.

5. Pray, Pray, Pray again…. Vote…. Pray, Pray, Pray again.

First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, 2 for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. 3 This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior, 4 who desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth. 1st Timothy 2:1-4

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pray, Vote, Pray Some More

  1. I think the Constitution Party is the closest you will find to Christian values. Are they a Christian group? Couldn’t tell ya. I really don’t know…but they, I feel, are the closest.

Share your thoughts.

