Three Pounds of God

In studying for tonight’s Bible study I came across this poem, with thoughts from Bill Hybels:

I would like to buy three dollars worth of God, please.
Not enough or explode my soul or disturb my sleep,
But just enough to equal a cup of warm milk, or a snooze in the sunshine.
I don’t want enough of Him to make me love a black man, or pick beets with a migrant worker.
I want ecstasy, not transformation.
I want the warmth of the womb, not a new birth.
I want a pound of the eternal in a paper sack.
I would like to buy three pounds of God, please.
–Wilbur Reese

“Reese writes these words tongue-in-cheek, but his point comes through loud and clear. There are times in all of our lives then we want just “three pounds of God.” Who doesn’t prefer ecstasy and euphoria to commitment and self-sacrifice? Who doesn’t want peace like a river rather than the rapids and white water of following Christ no matter what the cost? Most of us would tend toward the security and the warmth of the womb rather than a cataclysmic rebirth.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three Pounds of God

  1. Mary C says:

    I guess I’ve been so busy I didn’t realize that the portion of God I have is already more than I can hold. Today I heard Mary Crowley quote the poem, “Three Pounds of God”, and it took my breath away as it reminded me of how easy it is to be distracted, to push away from increasing daily time and talks with God. Before we know it , we’re not hungering or thirsting; we’re nibbling and sipping.–>

Share your thoughts.

