In Hope of the Resurrection

I’ve been putting off writing this blog for a couple of days. I have sat down more than a few times, logged in, and then felt the overwhelming sense that I just wasn’t ready.

A couple of days ago Tanya’s grandmother left this world to be with the Lord. Betty Vannoy was, and in eternity most certainly is, a wonderful Christian woman. She was a joy to be around. You’ve heard the saying that you do not marry a wife, you marry a family. In both cases, I have married very well indeed.

One of my favorite memories of Betty (Granny B) is of the first time I visited her and Dick at their home in Fort Stockton, Texas. We were having pork chops. Now, I’m a bit of a wimp when it comes to foods like pork chops, ribs, corn-on-the-cob, and fried chicken. I love them all, but refuse to eat them in public. I was faced with a conundrum. Do I pick it up? I went the safe route and ate it with my knife and fork. Oops. She jokingly (half-jokingly, I think) scolded me for eating it that way, and commanded me to, “put that fork down and pick that pork chop up right now. We don’t eat like that around here!”

It has always been a joy to watch her and Dick. They’ve been married for right at sixty years. They’ve raised two sons and a daughter to walk in Christ. They have blessed their grandchildren and great-grandchildren with a tremendous example of love for each other, love for family, love for their neighbor–and everyone was their neighbor. They’ve supported missionaries in Honduras and Guatemala. Betty always spoke lovingly and joyfully of her Guatemalan “grandkids” and of Roberto & Martha, missionaries there. Love & faith were not concepts. They were the fiber of her being.

My only regret is that a stroke and now, her departure, kept her from knowing our daughter Emma. I think that is what hurts most. But I’ll be glad to introduce them in Heaven one day. And we’ll all sit down and eat (whether we need to in Heaven or not) a pork chop with our hands.

Granny B, we love you, and look forward to a heavenly reunion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts.

