A dark cloud and its silver lining

It is not easy being a brother and a son far away from family. My sister is in Germany after a year in Iraq. I won’t go into details, but life back in Germany has possibly been more troublesome than it it was in Baghdad (with the exception that she is finally back with her six year old daughter). My mom, who is in the middle of a clinical trial for fibro-myalgia, is flying over to help her. As a son and brother, I’d like to wave a magic wand, say, “Ooga booga,” and fix everything. But I can’t.

“I can’t.” Were we not, as young Americans, taught never to say those words??? Yet, I can’t.

I have bounced back and forth from “getting done what has to be done today” to the verge of tears as I think of what I can’t fix. I’ve prayed alot today, and others have prayed with me. Our Bible study group tonight doesn’t realize how much I needed to be with them, nor how much it helped. (Guess I’ll just have to tell them then, huh?)

There is a silver lining to my sister’s needing my mom to make an unexpected trip to Germany. My sister, her husband and daughter have been there for about 4+ years. Only my sister has been able to come back to the US, and that only for some training. My niece, now six, is going to get to see Grandma. That’s fantastic. Regardless of the circumstances, I’m thrilled about it, and wish I could be there to see them together. My mom is also getting to have an extended layover here, so she’ll get to see Emma, now 7 months, for the first time since right after her birth. Even in the midst of our hardships, God is good, and gives good gifts, doesn’t He?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A dark cloud and its silver lining

  1. Greg Taylor says:

    Yes, when someone is sick or even in family deaths there are incredible opportunities for connection that otherwise would never happen. Hope and pray for you that your mother and Emma have a joyful first meeting.

    BTW, my brother, Toby Taylor, is a doctor in Utica, NY, helps out at Camp Hunt. Know him or Lape family in Utica church? Debbie is Toby’s wife.

  2. CL says:

    James,
    Just found your blog, wanted to let you know I am praying for you in this difficult situation. God bless!

  3. James says:

    Greg & Chris,

    Thank you so much for your prayers. I took my mom to JFK in NYC yesterday for her flight to Frankfurt. It was good to visit before she went.

    James

Share your thoughts.

