Where’s the compassion?

We had to act in WWII because of persecution and genocide.
We had to act in Bosnia because of persecution and genocide.
We had to act in Rwanda because of persecution and genocide.

We’ve done nothing in Sudan because we have no “national interest.”

50,000 lie dead. A million people have been forced from their homes. We have no “national interest.” I’ve found myself cynical enough to wonder if it is a racial/continental issue.

Finally the U.N. has stepped in. Finally the U.S. is stepping in. How? Resolutions. I’m sure that will solve everything.

I’m reminded of the O.T. book of Obadiah. God brought His judgment on the nation of Edom because they stood by and let their neighbor nation be pillaged. If you’re not familiar with the history, Edom was a nation of the descendants of Esau. That “neighbor” nation was Israel, the descendants of Esau’s brother Jacob–practically family. In fact, God calls their selfish lack of compassion an act of violence. He said, “Because of the violence you did to Jacob, your relative, you will be covered with shame. You will be destroyed forever.” Obadiah vs. 10

How will God judge the most capable nation in the world for not acting in defense of the defenseless? It might not be in our “financial interest” or our “political interest”, but I’m not sure it isn’t in our “national interest” to act.

Join me in praying for the Sudanese…and for those who stand by without compassion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where’s the compassion?

  1. Dwiggy444 says:

    Wow – great thoughts James.

    I’ve been reading about Sudan off and on for the last few weeks and my heart aches for those that are suffering there. My question, and the question many others probably have is –

    What can I do to help? If anyone can shed some light on this, I’m all eyes and ears.

  2. James says:

    That’s been my question all week, too. I’m praying, not only for them, but also what can be done. I’m writing my senators and congressmen today, along with both presidential candidates.

    Our church is praying especially about this this week.

    Any other ideas are more than welcome.

  3. James says:

    I received a letter from my congressman, Michael McNulty of NY, yesterday. He let me know he’d co-sponsored two resolutions and signed a letter to Kofi Annan, asking him to visit the region and assess the situation.

    I’m just not sure that resolutions and trips bring much comfort, or stop much violence. Our government, like some churches I’ve been a part of, turns more like a barge than a speedboat. The Sudanese refugees need a speedboat.

Share your thoughts.

